Eastern Mindanao College of Technology (EMCOTECH), formerly Pagadian Technological Center (PTC), is a non-profit, non-stock corporation duly registered with the Securities and Exchange Commission under SEC Registration Number 199800114 series of 1998.

On February 1998, its application for registration was submitted to the Securities and Exchange Commission, Zamboanga Branch by Avelino J. Lozada and Apolinario Quilat, as witnesses, with the approval of the Technical Education and Skills Development Authority (TESDA) for its technical and vocational courses offerings. Hence, it celebrates its foundation anniversary every 21st of February.

At the time of registration, there were only five (5) members of the Board of Directors to include the President, Mr. Crispin Talaoc Sr. When Mr. Talaoc died on July 12, 1999, the remaining members of the board decided to recruit additional members to joined in requiring them to come-up with a share capital for the operation of the school. The Board adopted Resolution No. 05 series 1999, appointing Urcisio Arambala as temporary PTC President.

In April 1998, PTC started its operation with a rented space located at Benigno Aquino St., Gatas, Pagadian City offering Modular courses such as: General Automotive Mechanics, Electronics, and Electrical. After a year, they transferred to a new location along R.T. Lim Street (now Cong. CMS Enerio Street), Balangasan, Pagadian City to accommodate more students. At that time, the financial status of operations gradually improved. On December 5, 1999, a new set of officers were elected and Mr. Avelino J. Lozada became the next School President and the number of Board Members was increased to fifteen (15). From then on, the Board holds the election of school officials every two years. In 2000, Godofredo V. Aure was elected and designated as Vice President and School Administrator at the same time. It was during this time that two-year technical courses be opened. Mr. Lozada remained as president as a result of the election during general assembly in December, 2000. He was assisted by Engr. Arnel Cantero in planning and overseeing the operation of the school. In August 5, 2001, Pagadian Technological Center (PTC) was changed to Eastern Mindanao College of Technology (EMCOTECH) in preparation for the plans of the Board to offer four-year degree courses. EMCOTECH continuously prove its commitment to provide the students with quality education by providing competent and dedicated instructors to help the students become skilled and experts in their fields.

In 2004, the school started to offer 4-year degree courses and had produced a competent participant from the Electrical Department, in the person of Jay Dominguez. Out of 13 contenders from all over the country, he successfully defended the name of EMCOTECH and won the 5th prize in the Building Wiring Category National Skills Competition held in Manila. The school takes pride as the undefeated champion in Hotel & Restaurant Services category in the provincial level and the 2nd prize in the regional level in 2005. On March 2007, the school was proclaimed as over-all champion of the Skills Competition spearheaded by TESDA in cooperation by TVET, Zamboanga del Sur.

The enrolment figure increases every year after and the administration had foreseen higher population when more courses are offered. Hence, in March 2007, the construction of a new 2-storey school building was started in a newly purchased lot at Purok Santan A, San Jose, Pagadian City. EMCOTECH fully transferred to the said building in June 2010. It was during this school year that the founding anniversary was formally celebrated in February. Part of its further expansion, in August 2010, the third storey was constructed for additional classrooms and Shielded Metal Arc Welding (SMAW) laboratory. In 2011, another building - the former Guardian Angel Sisters Convent was acquired (a rent to own scheme of payment) for the Hotel and Restaurant Management Department. At the same time, the said building serves as dormitory and function hall for rent.

EMCOTECH continued to be the champion as they joined the 2nd Pakals Culinary Festival in 2011 sponsored by the Pagadian Chinese Chamber of Commerce and the undefeated champion for the fourth time as they joined the TESDA Provincial Skills Competition. Then again, when the participants joined the ICT PSITS Conference on January 13-14, 2012, they brought prestige to the school as they became the 1st Placer in the contest.

When Mr. Godofredo V. Aure retired as Academic Dean on March, 2010, the school hired Dr. Filomena G. Montealto to assume the said position effective April 2010, and on March of the following year, Mr. Avelino J. Lozada retired as School President. His successor was Mr. Severino Tan, the chairman of the board, who was designated to assume the position while the post was still vacant. He performed the tasks of the president up to January 2012. After a series of board meetings, the board was able to convince Dr. Montealto to accept the presidency; hence, on February 2012, Mr. Tan turned-over the position to the newly elected School President of EMCOTECH during the 12th Founding Anniversary. On the other hand, because of Mr Avelino J. Lozada’s commitment and love to serve the school, he was rehired as acting Academic Dean of the college. Dr. Montealto is a very energetic president of the college, wherein part of her dream is to make EMCOTECH soar higher. As early as March 2012, CHED is able to grant the college to be the first school to offer Bachelor of Technical Teacher Education (BTTE) programs effective June 2012.

As per RA 10533-Enhanced Basic Education Act of 2013, which mandated on the implementation of K-12; the college applied to offer Senior High School from the Department of Education in 2015. In September 8, 2015, Department of Education granted the school to operate Senior High School

Learning Management System
Facebook Page


Contact Nos.
Visit Location
Copyright © 2021.Eastern Mindanao College of Technology